U.S. Social Security Law

May 31, 2011 No Comments by

The U.S. Social Security Law was passed during the administration of Franklin Roosevelt. It has now been around more than 75 years. About one American in five receives some form of benefit under U.S. Social Security Law.

If you’re coming to this website, there’s a good chance that the part of U.S. Social Security Law that you’re interested in has to do with disability benefits. These disability benefits have not been around since the 1930s. They started during the late 1950s. You might think that Social Security disability is only a small part of what the Social Security Administration does but you would be wrong. Retirement cases are easy for Social Security. Disability cases are tough. Almost half of Social Security’s operating budget is spent of administering disability benefits.

There are actually seven types of disability benefits under U.S. Social Security law:

  • Disability Insurance Benefits — based upon you own earnings
  • Disabled Widows and Widowers benefits — based upon the earnings of a late spouse — must be at least 50 years of age.
  • Disabled Adult Child benefits — based upon the earnings of a parent who is deceased or drawing Social Security benefits — must have become disabled before age 22.
  • Blind benefits based upon one’s earnings. If you’re heard of “statutory blindness”, it’s because the Social Security Act defines it.
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits. Must have low income and low resources.
  • SSI for disabled children. Disability means something different when you’re talking about children.
  • SSI blind benefits.

If U.S. Social Security Law sounds complicated, it’s because it is. Hire someone who knows the ropes to help you.

Attorney Posts

About the author

Charles Hall is the lead attorney for the Charles Hall Law Firm in Raleigh, NC. He has been practicing in the Social Security Disability law field since 1979, is published, and is ready to help new clients win their benefits in North Carolina.